Can you help launch “CONSENT” in Indiana?

Your help is urgently needed!

Defining CONSENT in our laws is the critical key to conquering sexual assault, and the legislators of Indiana are examining the definition for this pivotal word for Indiana’s penal code….. RIGHT NOW!

Defining consent in one state, opens the doors to defining consent in every state and jurisdiction across the US and around the world, no matter where the process starts!

The late Ruth Bader Ginsburgs’s words never rang truer than today: “Nothing changes without changing our laws!” You can be part of this monumental, transformational change!

Like every other state throughout the US, Indiana currently fails to define “consent” in its penal code.

Indiana’s legislature has empanelled a legislative study committee to research and file their report on October 6th. Your letters and phone calls to members of the study committee can help this vital effort succeed.

You will find the email addresses and phone numbers below for each member, as well as a model letter to use as-is or modify to your liking.

Viewed by each legislator:

The correct definition for “consent” that CAN has introduced is endorsed and supported by Model Penal Code, Nuremberg Code, and General Data Protection Regulation:

Consent is Freely Given, Knowledgeable and Informed Agreement. #FGKIA.

Failing to include the actual, and appropriate definition for consent in penal codes enables rape mentality and puts every man, woman and child at risk for sexual assault and rape. In the Weinstein and Cosby cases, each jury asked for the definition. Each judge answered- “Use your commonsense.” This same discussion takes place in practically every rape trial.

All victims are entitled to equal justice under our laws. Only when we #CodifyConsent can we establish a consistent definition for judges to convey to each jury in order to hold sexual predators accountable and secure equal justice for all. Defining “consent” makes unlawful sexual conduct crystal clear to each and every member of society.

Please use the list that follows to write and/or call today, and bcc Info@ConsentAwareness.net so that we can track the volume of responses on this important issue.

If you would like for CAN to help you begin the process of defining consent in your jurisdiction, write to us at info@ConsentAwareness.net.

Dear Senator _____ or Representative ______:

Thank you for your efforts, as a member of Indiana’s Legislative Interim Study on Consent, to #CodifyConsent in Indiana’s penal code.

Defining consent as the freely given, knowledgeable and informed agreement that it is, will not only protect generations of men, women, and children, but will also serve as a blueprint for appropriate sexual assault laws in additional states and jurisdictions.

No matter how the offender conducts a sexual assault, the victim has a right to equal justice under the law. Only by providing a consistent and correct definition for consent can justice be meted out with an equal hand and can society clearly understand what constitutes a sexual assault.

I look forward to your support for a bill, recommended by your committee, to define consent in the penal code of Indiana.

Sincerely Yours,

Your Name

Your location

List of Legislative Study Committee Members and Their Contact Information

Committee Chair: Representative Wendy McNamara, 800-382-9841, 317-232-9719, h76@iga.in.gov

Committee Vice-Chair: Senator Michael Young, Legislative Assistant Madalynn Conner, 312-232-9517, madalynn.conner@iga.in.gov

Senator Mike Bohacek, 317-232-9400, Senator.Bohacek@iga.in.gov

Senator Justin Busch, 317-232-9400, Senator.Busch@iga.in.gov

Senator Timothy Lanane, 317-232-9427, s25@iga.in.gov

Senator Karen Tallian, 317-232-9404, s4@iga.in.gov

Senator Greg Taylor, 317-232-9432, s33@iga.in.gov

Senator James Tomes, 317-232-9400, Senator.Tomes@iga.in.gov

Representative Ragen Hatcher, Legislative Asst. Jalen Jones, 317-234-3101, Jalen.Jones@iga.in.gov

Representative Blake Johnson, Legislative Asst. RaeVen Ridgell, 317-232-9827, RaeVen.Ridgell@iga.in.gov

Representative Sharon Negele, Legislative Asst. Lewis Ostermeyer, 317-232-9816, Lewis.Ostermeyer@iga.in.gov

Representative Matt Pierce, Legislative Asst. Shelby Baumgartner, 317-233-5348, Shelby.Baumgartner@iga.in.gov

Representative Gregory Steuerwald, Legislative Asst. Andrew Alvarez, 317-232-9620, Andrew.Alvarez@iga.in.gov

Representative John Young, Legislative Asst. Cody Eckert, 317-234-9499, Cody.Eckert@iga.in.gov

Committee Lay People:

Linda Brady, Chief Pobation Officer Monroe County- lbrady@co.monroe.in.us or LinkedIn

Bernice A. Corley- Indiana Public Defenders Council- bcorley@pdc.in.gov or LinkedIn

AmberFinnegan- Executive Director, Jefferson County Court- amber.finnegan@jeffersoncounty.in.gov or LinkedIn

Judge Matt Headly- Indiana Circuit Court, 301 N. College Avenue, Bloomington IN 47407

Randy Koester – Indiana Dept. of Corrections, rkoester@idoc.IN.gov, 317-232-5711

Chris Naylor- Executive Director, Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council- ipacinfo@ipac.in.gov or LinkedIn

Legislative Interim Study Committee Staff: Andrew Hedges Esq. : Andrew.Hedges@iga.in.gov

Leave a Reply