Your Voice Can Prevent Sexual Assault, TODAY!

Use this QR today to support legislative bills #A6540 and #S6200, or use this direct link. You can also use the links below to email your own version of your letter, straight from your heart!

Both of these bills clearly state the definition for CONSENT in penal code. Presently, not a single state across the US provides this important definition. These bills are pending right now and need your support! Here is the actual wording from both bills:

Section 1. Section 10.00 of the penal law is amended by adding a new subdivision 22 to read as follows:

22. “Consent” means Freely Given Knowledgeable and Informed Agreement; Such agreement must be obtained without the use of malice such as forcible compulsion, duress, coercion, deception, fraud, concealment or artifice.

Society needs absolute clarity on the meaning of consent to hold offenders of every crime accountable. “Consent” appears over 100 times in the Penal Code of New York State with NO DEFINITION! Defining consent in NY will echo across all boundaries and change the world!

Both bills, one in the Senate, and one in the Assembly, will establish that the definition for consent never changes, no matter what conduct is taking place. Consent is always:

“Freely given, knowledgeable and

informed agreement! “

#FGKIA!

This definition will be applied in all crimes; sex trafficking, revenge porn, cyber fraud, theft, larceny, kidnapping, and more. It will protect people of all genders, religions, and national origins. It will prevent the victim-blaming that defense attorneys use to discredit victims and shred their character in sexual assault and rape cases.

More ways to help!

Please be sure to sign our change.org petition.

The following links can be used to create your own wording for your letter and reach the legislators directly. No matter what way you use to reach out, your voice will make a meaningful difference in conquering sexual assault and all crimes in which consent is a factor.

Simply tap the link to write to:

Assembly Member Rebecca Seawright

Senator James Sanders Jr.

And please cc your letter to: Info@ConsentAwareness.net for tracking

Here’s a template if you’d like some help:

Dear Assembly Member Seawright and Senator Sanders,

Thank you for introducing NY State Bill #A6540 and NY State Bill #S6200. I wholeheartedly support passing these aforementioned bills.

Defining consent in our laws is absolutely crucial in providing equal protection for all. Society needs to know and be guided by the following definition:

“Consent means: Freely Given, Knowledgeable and Informed Agreement

And because this is the actual definition for consent, the use of malice to influence a victim’s compliance can never be considered consent in any crime. Our statutes must be clear on the definition for this important word that appears over 100 times in the penal law of New York State.

Sincerely Yours,

Signature___________________________________

Date ________________________________________

City/State/Country _________________________________________

CODES Committee Members

These NY State Legislators currently control the progress of the bills in the Assembly and the Senate. Writing or calling them would significantly increase the bills’ chances for success.

If your time is limited and can only make a few calls, please contact the Chairs in both houses, Assembly Member Jeffrey Dinowitz, Senator Jamaal Bailey and Senator Patrick Gallivin, the Senate Minority Whip.

NY State Assembly CODES COMMITTEE
Jeffrey Dinowitz Chair
718-796-5345
dinowitzj@nyassembly.gov
Thomas Abinanti
914-631-1605
abinantit@nyassembly.gov
Vivian Cook
718-322-3975
cookv@nyassembly.gov
Catalina Cruz
718-458-5367
cruzc@nyassembly.gov
Steven Cymbrowitz
718-743-4078
CymbrowitzS@nyassembly.gov  
Patricia Fahy
518-455-4178
FahyP@nyassembly.gov
Andrew Hevesi
718-263-5595
hevesia@nyassembly.gov
Charles Lavine
516-676-0050
lavinec@nyassembly.gov
John K. Mikulin
516-228-4960
mikulinj@nyassembly.gov
Angelo J. Morinello
716-282-6062
morinelloa@nyassembly.gov 
Daniel O’Donnell
218-866-3970
odonnelld@nyassembly.gov
N. Nick Perry
718-385-3336
perryn@nyassembly.gov
J. Gary Pretlow
914-667-0127
pretlowj@nyassembly.gov
Michael Reilly
718-967-5194
reillym@nyassembly.gov
Linda Rosenthal
212-873-6368
rosenthall@nyassembly.gov
Rebecca Seawright (Bill Author)
212-288-4607
seawrightr@nyassembly.gov
Michael Tannousis
718-439-8090
tannousism@nyassembly.gov
Clyde Vanel
718-479-2333
vanelc@nyassembly.gov
Latrice Walker
718-342-1256
walkerl@nyassembly.gov
David Weprin
718-805-2381
weprind@nyassembly.gov
NY State Senate CODES COMMITTEE
Jamaal Bailey- Chair
718-754-8854
SanatorJBailey@nysenate.gov
Anthony Palumbo
631-418-1461
palumbo@nysenate.gov
Fred Akshar
607-773-8771
akshar@nysenate.gov
Brian Benjamin
212-222-7315
benjamin@nysenate.gov
Alessandra Biaggi
718-822-2049
Biaggi@nysenate.gov
Jabari Brisport
718-643-6140
Brisport@nysenate.gov
Jeremy Cooney
585-225-3650
cooney@nysenate.gov
Patrick Gallivan- Minority Whip
716-656-8544
gallivan@nyseanate.gov
Todd Kaminsky
518-455-3401
kaminsky@nysenate.gov
Brian Kavanaugh
212-298-5565
kavanaugh@nysenate.gov
Zellnor Myrie
718-284-4700
Myrie@nysenate.gov
Thomas O’Mara
607-735-9671
Omara@nysenate.gov
Diane Savino
718-333-0311
savino@nysenate.gov

Leave a Reply